Boris Mints Prize Previous Winners

A list of the previous winners of the Boris Mints Prize including Nobel Laureates, leading economists and global leaders in climate science.


Dr. Peter H. Gleick

Co-Founder and President Emeritus, The Pacific Institute for studies in Development, Environment and Security

Dr. Peter Gleick is a world-renowned scientist, innovator, and communicator on environmental, water and climate issues. In 1987 he co-founded the Pacific Institute, which he led as president until mid-2016.

Dr Gleick developed one of the first analyses of climate change impacts on water resources, the earliest comprehensive work on water and conflict, and defined basic human need and right to water – work that has been used by the United Nations and in human rights court cases. He also pioneered and advanced the concepts of the “soft path for water” and “peak water”.


Prof. Michael Kremer

Boris Mints Prize 2018 Winner Michael Kremer

Gates Professor of Developing Societies, Dept. of Economics, Harvard University.

Michael Kremer is the Gates Professor of Developing Societies in the Department of Economics at Harvard University. Kremer’s recent research examines education, health, water, and agriculture in developing countries, and has won awards for his work on health economics, agricultural economics, and on Latin America. He helped develop the advance market commitment (AMC) for vaccines to stimulate private investment in vaccine research and the distribution of vaccines for diseases in the developing world. 

He is the 2019 co-recipient of the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty”.  

He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a recipient of a MacArthur Fellowship and a Presidential Faculty Fellowship and was named a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum. He has been named as one of Scientific American’s 50 researchers of the year. In the fall of 2010 he became the founding Scientific Director of Development Innovation Ventures (DIV) at USAID. Dr. Kremer received his PhD in Economics from Harvard University. He is a board member or adviser to several non-profit organizations, including Precision Agriculture for Development, WorldTeach and Evidence Action


Prof. Jeffrey D. Sachs,

Boris Mints Prize 2017 Winner Jeffrey Sachs

Columbia University

Professor Jeffrey D. Sachs is a world-renowned professor of economics, leader in sustainable development, senior UN advisor, bestselling author, and columnist. Professor Sachs was the Director of the Earth Institute from 2002 to 2016.  He is Special Advisor to United Nations Secretary-General António Guterres on the Sustainable Development Goals, and previously advised both UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon on the Sustainable Development Goals and Millennium Development Goals and UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan on the Millennium Development Goals.

Professor Sachs is widely considered to be one of the world’s leading experts on economic development, global macroeconomics, and the fight against poverty. His work on ending poverty, overcoming macroeconomic instability, promoting economic growth, fighting hunger and disease, and promoting sustainable environmental practices has taken him to more than 125 countries. 

For information on the 2020 Boris Mints Prize winner Professor Sabina Alkire please click here.